Answers…

Balanced Body Reformer

Balanced Body Reformer

Christie over at Sportsnutritionliving.wordpress.com is curious: (in reference to pilates and reformer workouts)

“I know i have talked to you before about it.. but how many days a week do you need to practice to see the benefits of it… I am a runner and I tend to develop muscle easily so I want less bulk in my legs =(”

Bulk…something women seem to be very concerned with.  We actually do not carry enough testosterone in our bodies to become “bulky”.  The bulk that *most* women refer to, is this:

A woman begins lifting weights, and makes no changes to her diet/cardiovascular activity.  She gains muscle, but the fat that she carries stays put.  As such, her legs, stomach, arms, whatever actually appears larger.  In order to “de-bulk”, you must lose body fat.

Speaking strictly strength-gains, you can see results in two sessions a week.  The way I teach keeps your heartrate up, it’s not a losey goosey stretching hour.  You will sweat, you will breathe HARD, hell you may even crypuketurnbrightred.  Find a good, certified instructor.  Make sure they understand your goals, make sure you feel comfortable working with them.

My own training includes daily cardio of high intensity, 3-4 times a week of weights, and 2-3 times a week of Pilates (two reformer, one mat, or vice versa).

What else kids???  Keep them questions comin!

PS…I ran for 58 minutes today.  Now I am sitting in classes.  I am lifting and teaching at 5, when I get out of classes.  My run today sucked a bit because I lifted legs yesterday.  It was an “increaser”.  This is a flat run, you increase your speed gradually.  So my pace started at just over 8 minute miles, and ended at 7 minute miles.  Tough.  It’s a “dig deep” kinda run.  Glad I did it.  Glad it’s over!

7 responses to “Answers…

  1. OK I wish i lived in Utah cause then we could run, lift do cardio and than you could give mepilates reformer classes! I am def going to be getting started with the pilates… do you recomend a certain home video? I do not think I have the time nor the money to do 2 classes a week… thanks for the write up .. it really helped!

  2. I live in Salt Lake and I run! Do you run outside often? I live in Holladay and keep most of mine around that area. I’m thinking about tackling Emigration Canyone sometime soon. Have you gone up it? It’s not a super long run but I’m curious about the incline. By the way- I really love your blog. I can really relate on a lot of thing.

  3. Yeah I run outside all the time Cass! Do you have a website? Emigrations great because it’s BEAUTIFUL but it’s narrow and there are cyclists and cars…so it’s kinda rough at points.
    Christie…where DO you live? I don’t really love the home videos. If you go to mat classes, that can just translate into a homeworkout…that’s what is so great about mat. PORTABILITY!

  4. I live in NEw york on long island

  5. Thanks for the tip! I’ve heard that it can be a little iffy with cars because it’s a narrow highway. I don’t have a website. I guess I’m just a lurker! haha Your workouts are intense. I am working on my speed right now. I’m averaging an 8:05mile but I’d like to get into the 7’s soon.

  6. rhodeygirltests

    Twinksy- cool site! I am excited to read.

    OK, so here is my story:

    I do some sort of physical activity about 5-6 days a week, usually for 30 to 45 minutes. 2 of those days are easy, 2 are hard/intense, and 2 are lifting + a little cardio.

    When I lift I do circuits for 30-45 min that include a lot of plyometrics and muscle confusion so I am constantly moving and getting a great workout.

    To give you an idea of my fitness level.. I can easily do 30 pushups, I can prob run a mile in 7:30 but I don’t think much faster (haven’t tried in years).

    I am 5′ 6″ and weigh about 137 right now.

    How much protein do i need in a day?

    Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Cass…I took some time off for an injury, and came back faster than ever. Make sure you train hard, eat well, get enough rest, and you’ll see gains like you can’t believe!

Leave a comment