Hea(venly)lthy Cheesecake and Homemade Graham Crackers

I. Love. Sweetened. CreamCheese.

I suppose the reason behind this is that I grew up with a Dutch baby sitter who would slather cream cheese on bread, and then top it with nestle quick or Muisjes .
I’m not much for sugar. It makes me shaky, headachey, leaves me feeling heavy and bloated, etc. So I decided to make a low-sugar, lower fat, highish protein cheesecake.
I made it without crust because then crust is optional! And…I didn’t have any graham crackers (I can’t seem to find any at the store that are not chock-full-o nasty ingredients, or taste simply awful). So I made some graham crackers for those who might want graham cracker adornment with their cheesecake.
The graham cracker recipe can be found here: http://bakingsheet.blogspot.com/2005/04/shf-7-graham-crackers.html
They are GREAT.  Super molassesy flavored.
The cheesecake I adapted from Marlene Koch’s 375 Sensational Splenda Recipes
Here is my version:
8 oz fat free cottage cheese, pureed until smooth
8 oz fat free cream cheese
8 oz neufchatel
1 c splenda granular
2 whole eggs
1 egg white
3 T vanilla protein powder (I used ON 100% gold standard whey)
2 T cornstarch
Splash Vanilla Extract (I like a LOT, suit your own taste)
zest from half a lime, and half a lemon
2 oz fat free sour cream
6 oz “carbmaster” yogurt in vanilla
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix together cheeses, splenda, egg, and vanilla with a kitchenaid or handheld mixer.
Add zest, protein powder, and cornstarch.
Beat well.
Gently fold in sour cream and yogurt.
Pour into an 8″ spring form pan, sprayed with pam, bottom lined with parchment.
Place pan into a 9″x13″ baking dish and fill the dish about halfway up with hot water (a bain marie** http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bain_marie).
Bake for 50-55 minutes, until sides look firm and center is barely set.
Remove from bain marie** and cool.
Chill at least 6 hours before serving.
Serves 12.
**The purpose of a bain marie is to keep the cheesecake top from cracking.  As you can see, however, the bain marie did nothing for my cheesecake.
One more thing:
I LOOOOOVE Broccoli!

2 responses to “Hea(venly)lthy Cheesecake and Homemade Graham Crackers

  1. Love the idea of a crustless cheesecake served with graham crackers! Brilliant!

  2. Thanks Erica! The cheesecake turned out great! Awesome texture, nice light slightly citrusy flavor. This recipe’s a keeper in my book!

Leave a Reply

