it’s three a.m. i must be lonely

As it turns out, I really didn’t sleep last night.  Then I got up at 8:30 to go to spinning.  I am NOT a morning person.  Alas, here it is, three a.m., and I am still wide awake.

I halfwon halflost the battle tonight.  I didn’t step foot on the spinning belt.  I did hit the pavement.  I was going stir crazy in my house, and the weather seemed lovely for a quick jaunt.  Well a quick jaunt turned into an 8 miler.  Then I hurried and sped to Costco before it closed.  Got the necessaries:  pounds and pounds of broccoli, lettuce, spinach, somanyeggs, chickie breasts, gum, cukes, tomatoes, yogurt, cottage cheese.  Then I came home and cooked up a storm in the kitchen.

Oh back up.  I was being lazy and snacky all afternoon.  I am not much of a cerealandmilk eater.  I am more of a cerealstraightfromboxtomouth eater.  Let’s just say that my hand as a vehicle for all bran extra fiber before a run is BAD NEWS.  Noted.

Anyway.  I made some spicy chipotle chicken breasts.  A sauteed veggie smorgasborg.  And most importantly…I have developed a protein crepe recipe!  I tried them two different ways:  Adding cottage cheese, and not adding cottage cheese.  I thought the cottage cheese would give them a lovely cheesy consistency.  I was wrong.

So all I did was put 4 egg whites and a scoop of vanilla flavored whey (120 kcal worth, 23 g protein) into my magic bullet cup.  Then I added a dash of vanilla extract, a touch of splenda, and whizzed it all together.  Make sure the pan is quite hot (I used a nonstick pan and some nonstick spray) and just pour batter into the hot pan.  My recipe made five.  It will depend on the size of your pan I suppose.  Mine is probably ten inches.  When you pour the batter, just swirl the pan around quickly so that there is a thinthinthin even layer coating the bottom of the pan.  Wait til the edges start to curl off of the pan, then flip it and let the other side cook til nicely browned.  SO YUM.  I ate mine with a bit of kroger’s “carb countdown” yogurt.  That yogurt is MUY DELiCiOSO.  Track it down if you haven’t already.  It’s high protein, low sugar, and super duper creamy!

Seriously though.

BEDTIME.

Night All!

Leave a Reply

